Hello and welcome back to my blog! Today I’m sharing my first pictorial on a yellow-plum smokey eye. Enjoy!

1Step 1: Time to prime! Priming the lid ensures a smooth base. I like to use Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion followed by a very light dusting of Rimmel’s Stay Matte Pressed Powder in the shade Buff Beige. This helps set the primer down and makes blending powdered shadows even easier.

 

2Step 2: With a dense smudge brush, apply a canary yellow eyeshadow along the lower lid and above the upper lashes, avoiding the outer corner. I like to use the bright yellow shade in the Take Me To Brazil palette by BH Cosmetics to achieve this ultra bright tone.

 

3.pngStep 3: Apply a second layer of the yellow shade to really make it pop. Next, use a fluffy blending rush to carefully place the transition shade. I used a warm, light taupe shade from J.Cat Beauty’s Sunset Boulevard palette.

 

 

4Step 4: With a shader brush, place a medium/dark taupe shade from the middle of the crease to the corner. The one I chose has just a hit of purple to it (also the J.Cat palette) , which will allow for the perfect plum transition I’m aiming for. Be sure to place this color exactly where you want the deepest part of your eye to be.

 

5Step 5: Blend the middle shade, dragging the excess down to the outer portion of the lower lash line. This will help smoke it without making it too dramatic.

 

 

6Step 6: In the outer corner, add the darkest shade. I chose a dark, neutral plum shade that is also in the Sunset Boulevard palette. Like the last shade, place this were you want the most depth and blend, blend, blend! If you want to make this more into a night look, drag this color along the lower lash line. For my look, I want to keep it a little more bright.

 

7.pngStep 7: Dab a golden or copper highlighting color on the center of the lid, then brush over that with the yellow we used earlier. This helps pull the two colors together.

 

 

 

8.pngStep 8: Apply your favorite black mascara! I use e.l.f’s Mineral Infused mascara.

 

 

 

9.pngStep 9: Add an inner corner and browbone highlight! I used ColourPop’s Stole The Show highlight over the yellow on the inner corner and just a light dusting under my brow.

And that’s the look! I hope you found this pictorial helpful and if  you can think of ways how I can make these more helpful for you, please let me know! If you recreate this look be sure to tag me (@Harlibi) in it – I’d love to see your creations!

