About the product

Benton is a Korean skincare company that pledges to use quality, healthy ingredients to restore skin to its natural youthfulness. The name Benton was coined after inspiration from the multiple Academy Award winning film,

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (which is an amazing film and I highly recommend it!) The story is about a child, born as an old man, who travels through life aging backwards. Wouldn’t it be amazing if we too could rewind the years on our skin while also protecting our complexion from the sun’s harmful ways?

Today I’ll be talking about one of Benton’s newest products – their Papaya-D Sun Cream. This new product is a combination of physical and chemical blockers offering SPF 38 and PA+++. A unique feature about this product is that it contains papaya, which is a fruit that is known to be rich in antioxidants and vitamins to help battle the signs of aging while also offering softness and firmness. In this product, the entirety of the fruit is utilized. The extract of the fruit and its water offers the vitamins and minerals that keep the skin looking younger and healthier. The oil extracted from the papaya seed offers a natural form of moisture to keep the skin soft and supple. And the papain – an enzyme within the fruit – is beneficial for cleaning the pores and controlling unwanted sebum control. These three derivatives from the papaya fruit hopefully will give you the idea of how this product helps create a smoother, healthier canvas and complexion while also keeping harmful UVA (causes freckling and wrinkles) and UVB (causes sunburns) rays at bay that we can easily experience on a daily basis! I will include the remaining ingredients of this product at the end of this review.

How it wears

For those who are new to my blog, I have sensitive and dry skin that tends to prefer hypoallergenic products. While this product doesn’t claim to be hypoallergenic, it caused no redness or irritation on my skin and I have not experienced any unwanted breakouts or texture. The product itself dispenses as a white cream with a rather strong scent. It smells very much of lime, and though it is strong at first the aroma dissipates within the first 15 minutes or so. I generally am not bothered by scents being too offensive, but this one was noticeably quite strong of lime. This makes sense because lime and lemon oils are both found in the list of ingredients.

I love the texture of this cream. It is very lightweight and smooths across the face easily. I’ve found that other creams that contain SPF can feel incredibly heavy and thick on the skin, but that is not the case with this one. A little spreads a long way and it sinks into the skin, rather than sitting on top. It feels moisturizing and nourishing to the skin, which is a huge plus for me.

My skin is very, very fair. When some people joke about their SPF products having a white cast, I joke how a white cast is coverage to me! When swatching this product on my arm – which is a little more sunkissed than the rest of me – I didn’t notice any white cast once I massaged the product into my skin. However, I will mention that a friend with a more medium skin tone noticed a clear white cast when applying this product, so keep that in mind when considering this product.

For me, the only thing I have to work with this product on is how shiny it appears. It’s not the popular highlighted dew you see everywhere on Instagram and Youtube – it’s shine. I found this surprising because it doesn’t feel oily on my skin at all, but there I stood, my face shining bright like a diamond. The shine definitely faded after the product settled for 15 minutes or so, but it was still a little too obvious for me. I will mention that I usually skip primer and foundations and go bare-faced during the summer, so a shine effect is more noticeable for my daily routine. I found that an easy solution to the shine is by applying a mattifying primer after this sun cream. It completely took away the shine and this effect lasted all day for me. If you typically wear a primer or foundation over this, I don’t think you will have to worry about the shine! Despite this, I have really loved wearing this papaya sun cream every day. It’s more important for me to protect my skin from harmful damage than to fuss over having to add a little primer to get my desired matte effect.

On a side note, even though I’ve only been using this product for a short amount of time, my skin has been noticeably softer. I haven’t been testing any other revolutionizing new skincare products lately, so I think I have to chalk it up to this sun cream! I think Christopher Columbus was right – papaya really is the “fruit of the angels!”

With all this being said, I really have been enjoying this product and have already recommended it to several of my friends and family. For me this has been working really well and I don’t mind adding a little primer over it to mattify my look. I’ve been very happy with how my skin has reacted to this product and will likely keep this part of my daily routine! A huge thank you to Benton for kindly sending me this product to review. Even though this product was sent to me, my reviews are always 100% honest and true to how I feel about the product!

Have you tried this product? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comment section!

Benton’s Papaya-D Sun Cream Ingredients:

Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Water(55%), Titanium Dioxide, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Isoamyl p-Methoxycinnamate, Glycerin, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Pentylene Glycol, Niacinamide, GlycerylStearate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil,Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Aluminum Hydroxide, Panthenol, Carica Papaya Seed Oil(5000ppm), Glyceryl Caprylate, Stearic Acid,Water ,Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Xanthan Gum, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract(750ppm), Tocopherol, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Xylitylglucoside, Anhydroxylitol, Xylitol, Papain(100ppm), Propanediol, Adenosine, Sodium Gluconate, Disodium Adenosine Triphosphate, Algin, Carthamus Tinctorius(Safflower) Bud Extract, Glucose, Juniperus Communis Fruit Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Oil

 

 

